Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

I love baking new recipes!  I have been looking for a reason to bake these cupcakes.. and finally found one.  A friend of mine was hosting a get together for another friend whose husband is being deployed – so it was a good bye type of party.  Cupcakes were in order here!

I found this recipe on Annie’s Eats – a site that I have baked several recipes from.  Check out the recipe over there:  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes.  I’m always the type that like to follow the recipe the first time I bake something exactly as written.  So, that is what I did.  The cupcakes were just so-so to be honest.  Everyone was really excited to hear they were chocolate chip cookie dough, but the cake itself was a little dry, and the frosting was too sweet.  The filling, however, was definitely the best part and very delicious!

Cupcakes when I pulled them out of the oven:

IMAG2323

They at least look yummy, right?!  But now.. the best part, the filling!  Again, made exactly per the recipe.  Just look how scrumptious these cupcakes look when I was doing the filling!

IMAG2324Lastly, the frosting – the finished cupcakes:

IMAG2325

They look quite yummy – but next time I think I’d cut down on the baking time of the cupcakes – as they were dry.  So, reduce baking time and/or oven temp.. try to get the cupcakes not so overcooked (I dont think it was the recipe for the cupcake that made the cupcakes dry – I really do think they were just overcooked).  As far as the frosting goes – it was very sweet.  Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious!  Just sweet.  Probably will reduce the powered sugar a little bit next time.. see if I can reduce the sweetness.

Overall rating – meh – I need to hold off on that.. try this recipe again 🙂  yummy concept though!

Leave a Reply

