Kitty Cat Birthday Party: Cakes

It’s cake time!  Keri wanted a chocolate cake for her kitty cat birthday.  It was mandatory.  It was all she was talking about.. a chocolate cake!  I scoured the Internet looking for examples of cakes (all of which are posted on my Pinterest board), and found the perfect cake.  I modeled my cake after this one – go to the Pinterest board and you’ll see which one I’m easily referring to!  But first, I had to make the fondant kitties.  These little kitties were made a week before her party because I had a very very busy week at school, so knew I would be unable to do any baking of any kind during that week.  The kitties are made out of homemade marshmallow fondant and homemade gum paste (from the back of the gum-tex container).  It tastes very yummy!  Now, the kitties how I made them, were not edible.  They had toothpicks and wire as well as fishing line (whiskers) in them.. so, they were pure decoration, but not too bad looking.  Took me 3 hours to make both of them.  Kinda cute, yeah?  Maybe?  Keri thought they were cute.. suppose that is all that matters!

fondant kitties

I made the cake the day before the party to ensure I had time decorating it properly.  As by request, it was a Hershey Chocolate Cake with a Chocolate Fudge Icing as the filling (and thin crumb layer for the fondant to go on), and covered in pink marshmallow fondant.  I made little flowers to decorate the bottom, made the #7 out of fondant / gum paste, tied a ribbon around the center, and.. that was it!  Ta-Da!  Beautiful cake for my little 7 year old:

IMG_2238

Here are fondant kitties a little closer on the cake:

IMG_2236 IMG_2235

I was happy with the cake, Keri was happy with the cake, but my husband always thinks I have more potential (love that man!) – he said he wished the kitties had more color on them, such as black patches or something.  It took me 3 hours to make, and I was so done and didn’t want to add any more color to it!

Next, I wanted cupcakes.  I made an eggless white cake with a strawberry cream cheese frosting.  I didnt do anything extravagant for these cupcakes, just frosted them, put on edible pink glitter and a kitty pick that I bought off Amazon.  They are pretty cute!

IMG_2322

Lastly, I wanted to make push up cake pops!  I wanted a strawberry cake, so made a vegan strawberry cake and with buttercream frosting.  I bought these little containers and stand at HEB (shocking, eh?) and they are adorable!  Everyone loved these, even the parents wanted to try them!

IMG_2240

Think everything turned out well.. I asked Keri if she liked everything, she said she did, so that makes me happy 🙂  Here is my little 7 year old with her cake!

IMG_2427

Happy 7th Birthday Keri!!

Leave a Reply

