Elf on the Shelf 2012

This is our first year to do the Elf on the Shelf thing with Keri.  Last year was the first time I heard about it and was thrilled about the idea.  And elf that reports back to Santa every night, really?  Seemed a little too far fetched!  Well, obviously I fell into the trap.. we have an elf.

Keri came home from school before Thanksgiving talking about the elf – she had heard from her classmates.  Now, I dont know exactly how much she believes of this elf gig.. as the 3rd years in her class have mentioned the “Elf on the Shelf” and such.  Also, we were at Barnes & Nobles doing some Christmas shopping over the Thanksgiving break, and she can read.. they had so many of them out!!

But, I thought I would give it a try.  This way she has something to converse about at school with her friends – I wanted her to be included in the conversation and not left out, so.. an elf visited our house!

Day 1 - Elf Arrives

Meet Sparkles.  Yep.. Sparkles – I’m okay with that name!  Hey, it’s better than “Bunny” or “Other Bunny” – I’m perfectly okay with that name!  Sparkles is a girl elf, sent from the North Pole (i.e. bought at Barnes & Nobles..) – Notice the note with her  Yeah, I couldnt read the book to Keri.  Call me crazy (I am!) – but, I did not like some of the wording in the book.  In particular, I did not care for the verse that mentioned the elf reports back to Santa when Keri does something bad.  Kids aren’t bad – they aren’t.  They may make poor choices, but kids are never bad!  We do not use that word in this house, and I did not want to read that.

So, what to do?  Google of course!  I found this link with a letter and little sign that was more appropriate to read to Keri.  So, I went with it.  Here is that link if you want to check it out:  Arrival Letter.

Keri’s reaction to the elf?  She wasnt sure.  Think the firs thing she said was “I have an elf!” – and we thought of the name Sparkles – she did that all on her own too.  I was busy thinking of Elf on the Shelf ideas.. and oh, I thought of quite a few!!  My awesome husband helped me out with a few, and has been amazing in helping me out every night – so I owe him a lot for thinking of some ideas and helping me with Sparkles!

On to Day 2 – Eggless Donuts.  To set this up.. Keri has a very severe egg allergy.  Well, there use to be a donut place here in SA that had eggless donuts.  They have since switched vendors and no longer offer eggless donuts.  I have yet to find another place here in SA that offers them, and Keri so wanted eggless donuts!!

So, with a little help from daddy planting the thought in Keri’s mind, Keri politely asked Sparkles for some eggless donuts fro the North Pole.  So, Sparkles baked some eggless donuts (i.e. Mommy woke up at 6:00am on a Sunday morning to make these and was very tired the rest of the day!!)

Day 2 - Eggless Donuts

Keri loved the donuts!  Day 3, Sparkles decided to play angry birds with Keri’s fairies!

Day 3- Angry Birds

Day 4 – Marshmallow snowman!  This was a cute day.. as Keri decided to draw her own marshmallow snowman to have Sparkles send back to the North Pole to give to Santa.  I felt horrible throwing them away…

day 4 - marshmallow snowman

Day 5 – Sparkles gathered up the zhu zhus to fight off a spider invasion!  Thank goodness!!

day 5 - elf vs. spiders

Day 6 – Gangnam Style.. Yep, had to do it.  Keri enjoys watching the video, and every time the song plays on the radio in the car, she does the dance.  So.. Sparkles spent all night on daddy’s iPad to learn how to do the dance!  I think she nailed it.

day 6 - gangam style

Day 7 – Zip line time!  How fun 🙂

day 7 - zip line

Day 8 – airplanes!  Keri has a pretty extensive airplane set since daddy travels a lot for work and is also a private pilot.  So, Sparkles decided to get the airplanes out, make a run way and play with them!

day 8 - airplanes

And.. close to a year later, I am just now finishing this post – My apologies!  I am missing one day.. probably the best picture out of all the days I did this, which made me so frustrated that I gave up.  I still can not find that picture.. but I am looking – I know for a fact I took pictures, but they are missing in my hoards and hoards of digital photos!  I wont give up though.. I’ll describe it to you guys and continue to look for that picture.  Meanwhile, enjoy the rest of the Elf on the Shelf 2012 🙂

Day 9 – Dinosaur Hats!  Sparkles made little hats for all the dinosaurs and put them on them.  It was really cute!

day 9 - dinosaur hats copy

Day 10 – Sparkles decided to write a message with Keri’s magnetic letters and hang from her magnetic wall.  Silly elf.

day 10 - magnetic wall copy

 

Day 11 – Sparkles disheveled all our Christmas cards on the line and hung from the line.

day 11 - christmas cards copy

 

Day 12 – Elves pray to.. you know!  Sparkles gets down and prays alongside baby Jesus.

day 12 - praying nativty scene copy

 

Day 13 – This one was a rough one to do.. b/c we couldnt want TV the entire day, but TV is overrated anyways 🙂  Sparkles got a bunch of paper.. and started to color a picture on it – hung it up on the TV, but didnt finish the picture.

day 13 - picture on tv copy

 

Day 14 – This is one of my favorite ones.  Keri absolutely loves this song – so I took it and ran with it.. Sparkles decides to write a little message to Clarice the reindeer to recruit her for Santa’s sleigh team.  Wonder if it worked?!

day 14 - call me maybe copy

 

Day 15 – Sock puppet time!  Sparkles gets creative and makes a sock puppet using Keri’s sock puppet book as a guide.

day 15 - sock puppets copy

Day 16 – Sparkles makes an airplane, hangs it from the ceiling fan in Keri’s art room and flies!

day 16 - airplane copy

Day 17 – Keri’s comfort items from the time she was 13 months until now are her prized bunnies.  So, I found this book called “Santa Bunny” and had Sparkles sneak into her room at night, bunnies came “alive” and listened to the story that the elf read to them – (the book is about the Easter Bunny wanting the attention so decides to become Santa Claus on Christmas to get attention, and how the real Santa makes the Easter Bunny realize how important it is to be true to yourself – really cool story!)

day 17 - santa bunny copy

Day 18 – Keri took an origami class the entire 2012 year after school one day.  Sparkles decided to use her origami book that Keri made and create her own Christmas origami too.  (P.S. – making that Christmas tree and Santa hat was harder than it appears – took a while for me to make those.. ha!)

day 18 - origami copy

Day 19 – I was in nursing school at this time, and we had to do a lot of vision screenings on kids as part of a class.  So, the elf decided to do vision screenings using the Snellen Chart on the horses!  (Retrospectively – I think I would have done the Snellen chart differently – instead of using a real one, as pictures, I would have made my own with a Christmas saying / poem instead – would have been cuter!)

day 19 - snellen chart copy

Day 20 – Sparkles snuck into Keri’s room while she was sleeping and put a picture of herself on her pictures frames!

day 20 - elf pictures copy

 

Day 21 – Elf running a lemonade stand.  This is the picture I am missing.  I am so angry, disappointed, and so incredibly sad I am missing this picture!  I know for a fact I took pictures of this idea, because it was the best idea.. ever!  So, let me describe the concept to you.. and I will continue to look for that picture – It has to be here.. somewhere!!  The idea:  I took a shoebox, cut a square hole out of it, built a “table” that came out and spray painted it all yellow.  I used my cricut (scrapooking machine) to cut out the word “lemonade” on there, and made some little lemons.  So, I had a full blown lemonade stand that Sparkles was standing in to serve lemonade to all of Keri’s little pets from her Littlest Pet Shop figurines.  It was so cute, and I thought it was the best idea out of all of them!!  I’ll keep looking for this picture!

Day 22 – This idea was a last minute idea by my husband of all people!  I was running low on ideas, and he mentioned that the elf should try to catch a cat.  So, I built a “cat trap” out of a shoe box, bought a new stuffed cat that Keri had never seen before, and… wa-la!  Sparkles caught a cat!  Note:  There was a cat treat actually under the cat trap.. but one of our actual alive cats ate it.  Ha.  Keri thought this idea was adorable.

day 22 - cat trap copy

 

Day 23 – Magical Candy Canes.  Sparkles left a bowl, oatmeal, and crushed peppermints out with instructions on how to create magical candy canes.  Keri was to follow the instructions, and in the morning, magical candy canes would appear!  It worked.. magic!

day 23 - magical candy canes combined

 

Day 24 – Goodbye Letter.  Sparkles said goodbye today.  Keri was so sad – she actually started to cry when she read the letter, she didnt want the fun with Sparkles to go!  Sparkles brought a goodie bag for Keri and wrote her a letter.  It was a sad day.. but she quickly forgot in the morning after Santa arrived 🙂  (Although.. she has mentioned Sparkles, probably every month since then.. she cant wait for her to come back!!

day 24 - goodbye letter copy

 

And.. that is the adventures of Sparkles – our Elf on the Shelf 2012!

 

Leave a Reply

