Teacher Treats: Valentine Themed

Every year at registration, there is a sign up list for what the school calls “Teacher Treats” – Every Wednesday, a volunteer offers to bring the staff of 50 at the Montessori School a little something special.  Iloved doing it last year!  This year, I signed up for 2 days.  The first was last semester while I was a full time student in school.. not much baking was able to get done, unfortunately.  I felt horrible!  I didnt even post pictures of what I brought because (in my opinion), the teacher treats were definitely below bar of what I did for the treats last year.  But, there was a problem.. my second day to deliver teacher treats was after I started nursing school in May – this would not work!

Everything happens for a reason, right?  Right.  I’m in charge of the reminder emails to parents for the teacher treats – something I dont mind doing at all.  But I send out the reminders every Sunday to the parents to remind them of their date as well as a monthly email to the month ahead.  One parent was going out of town Feb 15th and needed to switch.  This was my chance to switch my date from May!  I asked her about it, and we made the switch.

February 15th.. could this day be anymore perfect?!  This is the day after Valentine’s Day.. oh my, wait, Valentine’s Day.. YES!  I’m totally doing a Valentine’s Day themed teacher treats.. 🙂

The first item I made were the heart mints.  These are a mint recipe from Allrecipes:  Cream Cheese Mints.  These things are so easy to make.. why havent I made these sooner?!  It took longer for me to cut out the little hearts than it did to make the recipe!  They are incredibly delicious and very addictive – will definitely make again.  Regarding the recipe itself, I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and I used 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract.  Mmmm!

Next I made the cinnamon chips and fruit salsa.  This recipe also comes from Allrecipes:  Fruit Salsa.  I used flour tortillas and shaped them into hearts for the chips.  I used significantly more cinnamon sugar than what the recipe calls for however.  For the salsa, I used strawberries, grapes, blueberries and raspberries.  Nice valentine’s day compliment to the other goodies!

Next I made the fruit dip, heart fruit kabobs and heart strawberries.  The fruit dip comes from Allrecipes:  Fruit Dip.  This fruit dip is beyond delicious.. something you can the whole bowl of!  The fruit kabobs was from an inspiration I saw off Pinterest:  Fruit Kabobs. For the fruit, I used watermelon, honeydew, pineapple and cantalupe.  I used two small heart cookie cutters to cut the hearts – I think they turned out pretty good!   The strawberries – my wonderful husband helped me wash and cut the strawberries into cute little hearts.  These add a nice touch of healthiness to the treat table!

To compliment the fruit dip, I also did heart strawberries (actually, my husband cut these for me!) – loved how they turned out:

Next was the cupcakes.  I made a vanilla bean cupcake from Annie’s Eats that has long been in my recipe box – this vanilla cupcake is so delicious!  For the frosting, I made a strawberry Swiss Meringue frosting, which is to die for!  This frosting far exceeded my expectations and I’m so pleased with how delicious this frosting was!  It complimented the vanilla bean cupcakes perfectly.  The little hearts are made from marshmallow fondant from Allrecipes.  Yummy!

Lastly, the heart sandwiches.  We made these the morning of, and they turned out so cute!  I saw this idea on Pinterest about the heart sandwiches and knew I had to include them for the teachers.  I made various sandwiches with turkey and ham meats and swiss, mozzarella and cheddar cheese.

I also made Keri’s teacher individual plates to ensure that they received a little bit of everything from the treat table:

Thinking the teachers loved their Valentine’s Day treats, they deserve it!

Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

Picture is of Keri outside in our backyard – she had to show me how she can do the monkey bars.. right in the middle of me baking / preparing all the delicious treats.  Of course I happily agreed and took a few minutes to go outside with her.. beautiful day and beautiful girl!

Leave a Reply

