Owl Baby Shower

This past Saturday, Jan 28th, 2012, I hosted a baby shower for a friend of mine having a baby girl in a few weeks.  I had so much fun doing this baby shower!  I have already posted the pictures on Facebook (private) and Pinterest (public – look for me at http://pinterest.com/amphitkere) – but I wanted to blog about it to.. as on those two sites, its mainly just about the pictures!

My friend loves owls and the nursery will be done in owls, so obviously it will be an owl baby shower.  I kind of adopted the colors pink and brown after doing a lot of looking around for ideas!  I spent all last week working on the baby shower.. and it took an estimated 50 hours (just me, a couple friends helped me too!) to make everything and prep for the shower, but it was so worth it.

I had to co-hosts for this shower, Becca and Melissa.  I knew that Jeanette (mommy to be) would really appreciate a party favor that was practical, something that she and the guests could – and would – use.  So, I thought about canning.  Becca hosted a House Party a year ago that dealt with canning, and was given a ton of canning supplies.  So, me and another friend, Carmen, went over to her house and canned strawberry jam as a party favor – it turned out so well and is delicious!  So, these were the party favors:

The banners were something I was so proud of!  They turned out so beautifully!!  Melissa helped me make these banners, and it took the longest to make out of the crafty stuff we did.

Partyware:  I chose the owl baby theme from Party city and built on this theme.  Melissa made the cutest labels for the water bottles, and the night before the shower, I spent an extra 20  minutes making the cups to hold the utensils, because I needed a creative way to display them!

     

Decorations:  I made a few things that I am also incredibly proud of including an owl mobile, and baby banner for the baby (Faylinn).  Also made some babies made out of diapers, washcloths and socks.. so cute!

Owls:  Oh yes, I made all the little owls you see in the mobile.. as well as the the little ones in the mantel above the banner.. and the big owls that were used as decoration as well as the special prizes for the guests who “won” the activities!  For the big owls, those were hand sewn.  I made 6 of them total (5 for the shower, and one for my daughter, because she really wanted one!) – I sewed all the owls up.. took forever (btw), and hot glued everything else on.  For the little owls.. I initially wanted to sew those.. but I made 11 of those and didnt have the time, so ended up hot gluing all those, and you cant even tell!  I think the owls turned out absolutely adorable!

Now, these werent the only owls that I made!  I also made paper owls too.  You’ll see the big owls that were made by my cricut and used for decorations.. that owl is so cute!  It was used by the “create a critter” cartridge for my cricut – which I love!  The small owls, oh my, let me tell you.. those things are so cute, but a pain to make!  It is a puncher by Stampin Up that I bought over a year ago – and you basically assemble the owl from the eyes, body, heart, everything – you have to glue all together.  I made roughly 90 of these little owls..!  They turned out cute 🙂

       

Food:  Oh yes, the food 🙂  Mommy to be was craving hummus, so I had a hummus bar set up.. but I needed owl stuff too!  So, I made three things owl related:  a fruit platter (look closely.. you’ll see the little and big owls in the fruit!), owl cupcakes, and owl cake pops.

Side note about the fondant owls.. I love doing these!  These took about 2.5 hours to make – and I made these on Thursday before the shower (shower was on a Sat).  I was way behind on my show (Days of Our Lives), so made these standing up catching up on my show.. it was a lot of fun.  I love doing the cupcakes!  The cupcakes are an orange vegan cupcake (mommy to be favorite cupcake that I make) and an orange buttercream frosting.  Everyone seemed to love them!

Little side story about the cake pops.. I hate making caking pops!!  This is the third time I’ve done them, and although they are incredibly cute, they are a pain to make unlike the fondant owls!  The chocolate cake pops were okay.. they turned out well.  But, the pink coated ones.. oh my, I was just about to give up on them!  When I coated them, they werent smooth at all – they were very bumpy, rough, and I thought to myself that there is no way I can display theses to the guests.  I even made a comment to my husband that I was just going to wrap them up, put a bow on them and hand them to the guests as they leave.  Well, as I found out, they looked a heck of a lot better in the morning!  They were smooth, and beautiful.. so.. I ran with it 🙂  I made the display box to display them in the day before the shower.. and there yah go, owl cake pops!

Diaper Cake:  This was fun to make.. I love making diaper cakes!  I had a friend of mine who sews, Mary, make some custom size blankets to wrap the diaper cake in.  Instead of using baby shampoo as a the base, I used baby safe all purpose wipes, which worked out so well.  I just think it is beautiful overall, what do you think??

Other Presents:  I got mommy to be Jeanette four additional presents.  One, not picture, are a series of onesie stickers.  There are 13 total (just born, and one for each month), so when Faylinn is born and every month you put a sticker on the onesie and take a picture – great photo op!  Bought the onesie stickers from Etsy.  Likewise, I bought two more things from Etsy.. a onesie and a bib.  The last item is an owl lovey bought from Baby Depot.  Loved the gifts!

Activities:  The major activity was decorating onesies and bibs for Faylinn!  I’ll let the pictures do the talking, as they speak a thousand words!

I needed a way to display the finished onesies / bibs.. so, this is what I came up with!  The backdrop was made by my friend, Mary.  I hunt it up.. put ribbon, added a cute owl, and well, take a look:

And for the decorated bibs:

Other Activities:  So, in order for the guests to win an owl, they had 3 chances.  First was decorating the onesie – whoever deocrated the best onesie received an owl!  Second, whoever guessed that the all purposes wipes was holding up the diaper cake got an owl.. and lastly, the owl scratch off game, which came down to pure luck.  In addition, we also did “special wishes” for mommy and/or baby.  Ignore the wax paper in the picture.. its the only picture I took of that (ahh!)

And.. that is pretty much the shower that I threw my friend.  I spent so much time on this shower, and I’m pretty proud of the decorations and all the hard work I put into it.. and Jeanette was so happy – it made me feel so good to see how happy she was, as this was all for her 🙂 I owe thanks to my co-hosts, Becca & Melissa (and, just to note, half the pictures were taken by Melissa, as she is a professional photographer!), Mary, Crystal (where I got the tables / chairs from), and most importantly.. my wonderful husband and daughter!  My husband helped me so much with the finishing touches for this shower, and it meant the world to me that he did!

So, with that.. I will leave you with one last picture – my beautiful daughter and her new friend.. meet “Owlie” – she picked out the colors for her owl, and is in love with this owl.. sleeping with Owlie every night!

3 responses

  1. Hi,
    I love your babyshower! It is sooo amazing! Great Work! I was wondering how you made the onsies and bibs? It looks like fabric but what else did you use for the guests to apply it?
    Thanks 🙂

    • Thank you for the compliment! For the onesies and bibs, I used fabric scraps (bought at Hobby Lobby) and fabric glue to glue on the pieces the guests cut out. It was a lot of fun!

  2. Hi! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to
    him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

